I’m a Farmer’s Wife

Hey everyone! I did a post on my old blog about being a farmer’s wife, but as that blog no longer exists and it’s been a while since I wrote that particular post, I thought I would write it again – and hopefully be more entertaining this time!

im-afarmers-wife

So, as you may or may not know, B is a pig farmer. He’s great at what he does, and I’ve been lucky enough to be able to go along and help out once or twice. I have to say, how you can be so chill around an animal that could squish you so easily I have no idea. I was trodden on, squished up against the side, and got my elbow pushed up between two metal bars – scrapping skin off – and that was just one pig in the space of 10 minutes!

If you’d like to know more about what B does, you can message him on his twitter account, or there could be a guest post type thing by him on this blog? Leave a comment or get in touch if you’d be interested in that! 🙂

Anyway, getting back to the point. That makes me a farmer’s girlfriend, although we might as well be husband and wife with what we’ve been through together, and it’s just made us stronger I’m happy to say! So, I’ll stop babbling and get to telling you some about living with a farmer.

  • It’s not a normal 9-5 schedule. B’s alarm goes off at 6:30 am every morning, and he gets home normally at 4:30 pm, but that often changes. Now it’s winter, he tends to be home on time. In the summer, he has been home as late at 6 pm. When you work on a farm, whether it be your own or not, work doesn’t finish at the time the bell rings, it finishes when the livestock -or arable – has been tended to and all other jobs that need doing that day are finished.
    This means that there’s not much of a routine when it comes to dinner time. Sometimes I cook dinner for 4:30 pm and he’s not home, other’s I don’t start dinner until 5 pm when he’s home and moaning he’s hungry!
  • Our house is always muddy. Well, I at least hope it’s mud! Both me and B are outside a lot, as we also keep chickens and ducks at home – my fluff-butts – and straw ends up all over the house too. Dust is a problem in the summer, as the sun dries out the mud. All I can say is I’ve come to accept that my house isn’t going to be impeccable. Ever.
  • Sometimes I get to help out. I absolutely love going with B and helping out. I take any chance I get to learn more about what he does and how it all works and the system they use to keep everything organised -going out in the tractor is my favourite bit.
    We also visit friends at their farms, and in 2016 was the first time I got to experience lambing! Hats off to anyone who does it, it’s so lovely watching a new life come into the world!

hand-piglets-lifewithbellanlifewithbellan

  • We rarely have time to ourselves in the week. Due to not being able to guarantee B being home or not at 4:30 pm, our week centers around work and getting things done at home as much as possible. We’ll take advantage of shops that close later during the week, as it means there tends to be less people, and thus being quicker and leaving us time to do bigger jobs on the weekends.
  • It smells great in the summer. In the winter it’s not too bad, but in the summer the smell of the farm is strong! We are one of the few houses that are on-site, and so we get to enjoy the smells in the summer. It’s not my favourite scent, but it comes with the job and I’m very glad I’ve not got too much of a weak stomach.

This sounds like a list of “bad” things about being a farmer’s wife, but I don’t think it is. They’re inconvenient and sometimes annoying things, but we work around it and sometimes it works out for the better! Also who wouldn’t want to get the chance to be with the baby animals?!

  • I get to keep chickens and ducks. When I was younger, I ended up in the strangest position of baby-sitting a duck for a family friend for a week. Weirdest and best week babysitting ever. When I told B I wanted a duck, I was given the opportunity to hatch my own – that’s a post all on it’s own though- and I now have my own little flock.
  • The community is brilliant and you get to meet some amazing people. The farming community is so lovely – or at least the side I’ve seen so far – and I’m so glad to be a part of it through B. Even in the farm bloggers community you get to know so many new and amazing people! If you’re a farm blogger please leave me your links, and the lovely Emma from Farmer’s Wife & Mummy has made a private Facebook Group for Farm Bloggers which I’m so pleased to be a part of.
  • I appreciate the time I do get with B much more. As the time I get with B isn’t always how long it was originally meant to be, I try to cram in as much as possible when I do have him. Even on days off we can get a call to say he’s needed, and so we try to do a lot together – even if it’s chilling at home and watching some of our favourite films – when we can.

These are just some of the things that I get to experience and have in my life as a farmer’s wife. I appreciate some aren’t exclusive to this lifestyle – you can get some interesting smells if you live anywhere near fields for example – but they are definitely things that I wanted to include in this post and share with you all.

Thank you so much for reading, and I hope you’ve enjoyed today’s post. Please let me know with a comment or tweet if you’d like more posts like this one, especially if you’d like to know more on B’s job and what’s it like actually being a farmer.

Hope to see you tomorrow for tomorrow’s post!

Love, Bella x

Let’s Connect!
Twitter ¦ Instagram ¦ Pinterest

Related
Countryside Skills to Learn This Year

<a href=”https://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18425461/?claim=t68682nknne”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

